Aebelskiver’s

Aebelskiver’s

8TaGqgdh13c213336333335333mKAXg8Rc_1346368079

You will need a abeleskiver pan

1 cup milk

1/2 cup melted butter

3 eggs, separated

1/2 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/2 cups flour

2 tsp. baking powder

powdered sugar

Heat milk to lukewarm.Β  Whisk in the melted butter, egg yolks, sugar and vanilla. Turn into a bowl and add flour, baking powder and pinch of salt, whisking until well blended and no lumps remain. Whip the egg whites until stiff and fold into the mixture.

Heat aebelskiver pan over medium high heat until a drop of water sizzles when dripped into pan. Put about 1/2 tsp. butter into each indention. Spread it around. Spoon about one tablespoon of batter into each indention and let cook about 30 seconds and then turn over in pan to create ball and continue to cook until golden. Dust finished aebelskivers with powdered sugar.

25 thoughts on “Aebelskiver’s

  1. I was given an aebelskiver pan for my wedding (my husband’s family is Dutch), I’ve never used it sadly. I’ll have to find it and try your recipe. They are darling!

  2. I love Aebelskivers! My OH’s Mum makes them when we go to visit – got the recipe last time we visited and popped it on my blog (with a far less pretty picture, admittedly!) Poffertjes are lovely too – I’ve a recipe for those on my blog if you’re interested πŸ™‚ They’re a bit more like little puffy pancakes.

  3. What a brilliant idea to serve them with fresh berries! I got a pan a few months ago and must get it out again this strawberry season!

  4. Oh noo… the more posts I read from you… the more I like you… really… I love food and I love what you make! So damn amazing!! ❀

Leave a Reply

