Spinach Corn Strudel with Tomato Dipping Sauce

fTw8xWfg13c213630383030353vfehL8Ta_1346357509

1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese

2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

1 1/2 cups corn kernels

2 egg whites

1/2 tsp. lemon zest

nutmeg ; to taste

salt and pepper; to taste

1 tablespoon olive oil

5 cups fresh packed baby spinach

4 sheets of phyllo dough

4 tablespoons melted butter

Tomato Sauce:

3 tomatoes

salt; to taste

sugar; to taste

pepper; to taste

3/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup vinegar

6 fresh basil leaves , chopped

Strudel:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper.

In a bowl, mix the ricotta, Parmesan, corn, egg whites, lemon zest, nutmeg, salt and pepper until combined. Set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a pan and add the spinach. Saute until soft. Place the spinach on a cloth towel and dry the spinach, squeezing gently. Refrigerate for 10 minutes.

Brush a sheet of phyllo dough with 1 tablespoon of butter. Place the second sheet of phyllo and brush with butter. Repeat with remaining sheets.

With the long side of the phyllo toward you, spoon the ricotta  mixture onto bottom third of the dough, spread spinach on top of the ricotta.

Roll the phyllo up from the bottom, like a log; tucking in on the sides as you roll. Place on prepared sheet pan and bake 20 minutes, until golden.

Cut the phyllo diagonally into 8 pieces for appetizers or 4 for entree. Serve with the tomato sauce.

8 appetizers

2 entree

Tomato Sauce:

Blanch tomatoes in boiling water, chill in ice bath, remove skins and seeds.

In a food processor, puree the tomato. Add the salt, sugar and pepper; to taste.

With food processor running , slowly pour in the olive oil and vinegar. Blend until mixture is smooth.

Stir in basil.

35 thoughts on “Spinach Corn Strudel with Tomato Dipping Sauce

  1. This looks lovely! I just received a fresh batch of spinach in my CSA box today. I was planning on sautéing it but I might just have to give this recipes a go. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Your pictures are just beautiful – the colors really “pop” in this dish – who wouldn’t want to just dig into this? Have a vegetarian daughter that will love it! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Spinach Corn Strudel with Tomato Dipping Sauce « My Spanish Translator

  4. Man Maggie, you are killing me here with your blog!! I looked at the current post and want to make it but I think I would like to throw in some mushrooms, and perhaps make a mixture of corn, mushrooms and chopped green onion to fill with. Then what do I see, The Rhubarb recipe! I love Rhubarb, I can’t tell you not having a decent kitchen is killing me, or all these recipes would be on my table by tonight!! Great Blog Maggie!!

  5. Hey Maggie, for some reason I haven’t been getting your new posts. I just realized how many I’ve missed! This one is very tempting- they all look amazingly good! I’m just partial to savory pastry. I’ll have to give this a try! Thanks for liking “risotto de avanzi” too!

  6. Hi Maggie. I came over to thank you for stopping by my blog, but then I got reading recipes, and well, What can I say? This appetizer is awesome and I’ll be using it in our group’s Iron Chef’s contest we do each August–this year it’s appetizers! Lovely recipes! I agree with your statement about your kitchen. I live full-time in an RV and don’t let the small size stop me from my first love (besides the family), quilting nor cooking!

Leave a Reply

