Steak House Pizza with Whole Wheat Crust on the grill.

IMG_0608

I made this while at our cabin that currently has no oven. I made a whole wheat pizza crust but store bought would work fine as well.

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough :

1 1/2 cups water

1/4 cup olive oil

2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 1/2 tsp instant yeast

Bread Machine:

Place ingredients in pan as directed in your machines manual. Set on dough setting.

Stand Mixer:

Place the dry ingredients in stand mixer bowl fitted with a dough hook. With motor running, gradually pour in liquids and knead with machine until smooth. Place dough in oiled bowl, cover and allow to rise until puffy. Punch down and form crust.

Dough can be made ahead and refrigerated in sealed container. This also gives a greater depth of flavor to the crust.

 

 

I rolled the dough out thin and placed it on a hot grill. I flipped the dough once grill marks appeared . While the other side cooks I added the toppings which I prepared ahead of time.

The toppings consisted of

Arugula

Provolone

Thinly sliced green onions

Grilled medium rare petite sirloin, sliced thinly after resting for a bit.

Sauteed sliced cremini mushrooms and thinly sliced onion in butter until mushrooms were cooked and onions caramelized. Removed to a platter and used same pan for the sauce.

The sauce was made with a reduction of whiskey. Once the whiskey had reduced by half I added heavy cream and continued to reduce until thick. I also added to the sauce while reducing roasted garlic , salt and pepper. When the sauce has thicken significantly I stirred in some Marscapone until melted throughout and the sauteed mushrooms and onions.

I spread the sauce evenly over crust. Layered the steak and provolone cheese. Sprinkle over top the green onions and arugula. The pizza stayed on the grill until the provolone had melted. YUM!!!

20 thoughts on “Steak House Pizza with Whole Wheat Crust on the grill.

  1. Looks great and I am sure was delicious. I am sure I could use baby bell as in place of the cremini mushrooms.

  2. Wow that looks amazing!! My boyfriend makes his own pizza and he would love this one, especially with the whiskey! lol

    And I have yet to try arugula on a pizza. Need to try that…

Leave a Reply

